

CATHOLIC DIOCESE OF FORT WORTH

Catholic Diocese of Fort Worth
For Immediate Release
November 24, 2015
For more information
Contact Pat Svacina
817-945-9420
Mobile: 817 996-9609

Bishop Olson Designated Our Mother of Mercy Church principal church for Year of Mercy Celebration

Our Holy Father, Pope Francis, has proclaimed an "Extraordinary Jubilee of Mercy" from December 8, 2015 to November 20, 2016 "for all believers to be a true moment of encounter with the Mercy of God." In *Misericordiae Vultus*, Pope Francis proclaimed, "On the Third Sunday of Advent, the Holy Door of the Cathedral of Rome – that is, the Basilica of Saint John Lateran – will be opened...On the same Sunday, I will announce that in every local church, at the cathedral – the mother church of the faithful in any particular area – or, alternatively, at the co-cathedral or *another church of special significance*, a Door of Mercy will be opened for the duration of the Holy Year."

In keeping with this proclamation of Pope Francis, Bishop Michael F. Olson has designated that **Our Mother of Mercy Catholic Church, 1007 E. Terrell in Fort Worth** should serve as the principal church for the celebration of the Jubilee Year of Mercy for the Catholic Diocese of Fort Worth. Bishop Olson stated, "Since its establishment in 1929, the parishioners, religious sisters, and priests of Our Mother of Mercy have faithfully served and witnessed to God's abundant mercy most fully expressed through the gift of His Son, Jesus Christ. They have done this through service in education and outreach to the Catholic and broader African-American communities with a spirit of inclusion of all people within the Lancaster area and throughout Fort Worth and Tarrant County. This parish community, sustained by the patronage of the Mother of God under the title of Our Mother of Mercy, through its fidelity has persevered in sharing God's mercy towards the redemption of those wounded by sin, especially the social and particular sins of racism and unjust segregation. Our Mother of Mercy Catholic Church rightly enjoys the designation as the principal church for the celebration of the Jubilee of Mercy."

Bishop Olson will open the diocesan Year of Mercy at Our Mother of Mercy Church with a Mass, a blessing and opening of the doors at 9 a.m., Sunday, December 13, 2015. Bishop Olson and the parishioners of Our Mother of Mercy invite all members of the Diocese to participate in this Eucharistic celebration on that date, known as Gaudete Sunday.

During the jubilee year, pilgrims coming to and entering the church through the doors of Our Mother of Mercy Church will receive a plenary indulgence by meeting the usual conditions of Confession and reception of the Eucharist within a week before or after the pilgrimage, and while at the Church making a Profession of Faith and praying for the intentions of the Holy Father for the Church and the World. The latter could be done by praying the prayer for the Jubilee of Mercy by Pope Francis.

In addition, all Catholics in the diocese are asked to show mercy to others by increasing their spiritual and corporal works of mercy. Our Mother of Mercy Church also will host opportunities for the faithful to undertake various works of mercy during the course of the year.

In addition, Bishop Olson has designated one parish church in each deanery of the 28-county Diocese to serve as secondary sites for each specific geographic area for the Year of Mercy. In each of these churches the Pastor will open the Year of Mercy with a brief ceremony at the beginning of the principal Mass to be celebrated on December 13, 2015. In each of these parishes the Pastor will serve as the Bishop's delegate for the purpose of opening the Holy Door.

The parishes designated by the Bishop are as follows:

Northwest Deanery: St. Mary, Windthorst

Southwest Deanery: Our Lady of Lourdes, Mineral Wells South Deanery: St. Frances Xavier Cabrini, Granbury

West Central Deanery: Holy Redeemer, Aledo

East Central Deanery: Christ the King, Fort Worth

Arlington Deanery: St. Matthew, Arlington

Northeast Deanery: St. Catherine of Siena, Carrollton North Deanery: St. Thomas Aquinas, Pilot Point